8.2 C
New York
Saturday, June 22, 2024
HomeGermanyGerman History in a nutshell

German History in a nutshell

After World War II

After losing World War II and the end of the Hitler Regime the country was divided into four zones of occupation (UK, US, USSR, and later, France) in 1945. Federal Republic of Germany (FRG or West Germany) was proclaimed May 23rd, 1949, and included the former UK, US, and French zones.

German Democratic Republic (GDR or East Germany) was proclaimed on October 7th, 1949, and included the former USSR zone.
Berlin remains a ‘special territory’ and exists as East and West Berlin. The Eastern part is governed by the Soviets and the circumstance that West Berlin exists in the middle of East Germany leads to the ‘Mauerbau’ on Sunday, August 13th, 1961, the building of the Berlin ‘Wall’, which establishes a divided city. Reason for this measure is that the people of the east sector of the city should be hindered to migrate to the west sector.

During the famous speech in Berlin on June 26, 1963, J.F. Kennedy guarantees again, that West Berlin is under protection of the United States.
Unification of West Germany and East Germany took place October 3rd, 1990, and all four powers formally relinquished rights on March 15th, 1991.

Germany was reunified on October 3rd, 1990 – the Berlin Wall fell

More about Germany

Learn more about the current Germany: Germany — essentials, weather, currency, electricity and more

Popular Articles

All our content

Daylight Saving Time